Cherry Pit 10 Miler and Road Bike Woes

Sorry this has taken so long to post, but yes, the Cherry Pit 10 miler was a success!  The Cherry Pit 10 miler is run by the Annapolis Striders on the same day as the D.C. Cherry Blossoms 10 miler because so many people enter the lottery in order to run the D.C. race and don’t end up getting picked.  However, I may be a little partial, but I think the Cherry Pit race is just as beautiful, if not more beautiful, than the Cherry Blossoms run!  We ran through some of the farm areas of southern Maryland and saw some of the most gorgeous rural properties in the area.  Even saw a donkey, cow, and horse or two!  I love the country and miss being so close to it in Charlotte, but I guess it’s not so far away here 🙂  I wish I could have taken my camera on the run with me to give you guys some visuals of rural Anne Arundel County!

Ashley and Me at the finish! (I swear we didn't plan our outfits...)

This was also a special race because it was Ashley’s first “long distance” race.  She did great, and I could not have been more proud to run with her!!

beginning of the race

Almost finished!

Earlier this weekend, Adam took his new road bike out for a ride with me and I finally put my clip-in pedals on my bike.

Adam's New Ride - Cannondale Caad 9 Road Bike

 

I’ve only had them sitting in the closet since last triathlon season….yikes.  If you’ve never rode a road bike with clip in pedals, they are a great investment and give you increased power in your pedal turnover.  However, they take a bit of getting used to because you can’t just put your foot down to stop, you have to unclip.  Not so bad until you forget you are clipped in and go to stop.

Our clip-in pedals - Shimano 105 SPD

 

Anyway, I figured this was a good time to ease into them since Adam would be learning them too and we could experience our first “clip-in falls” together.  So, they’re on now, and I officially took my first fall with them about 5 minutes into our ride.  I was even stopped and “clipped out” already, but one weight shift in the wrong direction and….boom.  Face to pavement (and subsequently a puddle as well).  Adam laughed hysterically and has yet to fall.  Ugh he’s so good at everything!  But my bet is that his falls will come going 25 mph down a hill being a show-off.  We’ll see…

Tagged ,

One thought on “Cherry Pit 10 Miler and Road Bike Woes

  1. Thanks so much for running with me! Couldn’t have done it without you!

Leave a Reply

