Sick Day = Blog Day

Hi everyone, unfortunately I am home sick today with a case of the “can’t-breathe-can’t-hear-can’t-talk” disease.  I’m thinking its a headcold or maybe some heightened allergies, although I’m not usually one to suffer during allergy season.  Nevertheless, I am home with the pup catching up on emails, and yes, my blog.

Anyways, here was this Tuesday’s Crossfit workout:

Warmup:

800m Run

3 Rounds of: 10 pushups, 10 situps

Skill Workout:

5 sets of 2 reps – Power Snatch  *worked on drilling technique and execution*

Power Snatch – demo video

Workout of the Day:

15 min. AMRAP of:

1 clean and jerk, 1 box jump

2 clean and jerk, 2 box jumps

3 and 3, 4 and 4, etc. until time elapses.

Clean and Jerk – demo video

Cooldown: Stretch!

I brought my awesome sister-in-law, Alyssa to CrossFit with me today.  She is a great athlete and showed up with some serious skill today! She just got home from college for the summer, so she will be working out with us alot! Excited 🙂

So about this sickness, here’s what I am doing to take action:

  1. SLEEP.  I’ve got so much on my plate that I can always catch up on this.  Also, during sleep is when your body works on muscle repairs and immune function.  So this is not to be undermined as a great “get-well” tool.
  2. Eat my veggies.  I’m pretty good at this, but those leafy greens are great for the immune system and body repairs.  So just to make sure, I had a great cup of “Greens and Beans” soup from B.B. Bistro this afternoon for lunch.  Full of collards and garbanzos.  Mmm.  Followed by half a curried tuna wrap. Delish.
  3. Lots of fluids.  Being well-hydrated will speed your recovery and allow your body to flush out the junk that’s not making you feel great.
  4. REST.  Exercise is generally ok to do when you’re sick, as long as your symptoms are not flu-like.  If you have a fever, upset stomach, etc. it’s probably not a great idea.  However, that said, keep the exercise to a moderate intensity.  No CrossFit for me today!  We will re-evaluate tomorrow…
Hopefully taking today off will aid in recovery and I will be back to work tomorrow.  It’s gunna be a busy weekend in Annapolis!  We’ve got ZOOMA training runs, the TriRock Annapolis Triathlon (I’m cheering though, not participating), and beautiful weather!  Stay tuned 🙂
Tagged

Leave a Reply

