What I’m Reading

I often have ADD when it comes to reading, so I am almost always reading more than one book at once.  I am constantly talking myself out of buying more books to read, convincing myself I need to finish the one (or 10) I’ve started before I can buy a new one.  Realistically, I should probably own stock in Barnes and Noble or Amazon (someone please buy me a Kindle!).

Anyway, here are some great books I am in the process of reading…and I am always looking for new ones if you have any to suggest! Also, I have a variety of types of books that I am reading, depending on my mood.  Hence the categories below.

Summer is the best time to curl up with a book at the pool or on the porch, or after your workout of course! (all book images from Amazon.com)

Educational read:

A great read about sustainability of food and land resources.  If you like local food, farmer’s markets, and eating a well balanced diet, this is a very cool read.


Mindless read:

If you have never read a Chelsea Handler book or seen her show, go out now and do so.  This. Is. Hilarious.  Like ‘pee your pants’ hilarious, and a quick read.

Storyline read:

This gal was originally homeless, and through hard work, dedication, and a love for learning, she found herself applying and being accepted to Harvard University.  I think she was on Oprah at some point if I remember correctly… Very interesting and empowering story about working with the hand you are dealt in life.

Hobby read:

Interested in barefoot running, or just how to rid yourself of running injuries in general? A must read.  I listened to the physical therapist who treated McDougall speak at the last ACSM National Converence in Denver, and I was so enlightened!  Lots of concrete, well-researched evidence on the benefits of proper biofeedback during running.

All are great so far.  I also highly recommend any of Michael Pollan’s books, especially The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals.  I “read” this on Audiobook during my crazy commutes and this has become one of my favorite books.  An incredible, eye opening read!

That’s it! I have so many more great books I can recommend, especially geared toward nutrition, exercise, and proper recovery.  Anyone interested in a fitness/health themed book post? Let me know.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

